When It’s So Close

Unlike many college students, I adore the school year. I don’t love the classes. I don’t love the homework. I don’t love the constant overwhelming feeling that there’s something I should be doing that I’m not doing. I don’t love the out-of-class projects and I certainly don’t love having to be involved with my school’s campus media (besides DJ’ing, of course).

But I love getting to see my girlfriend on a regular basis. I love walking across a beautiful campus. I love spending most of my day within walking distance of most of my friends.

And above all else related to the school year, I love campus ministry.

I’ve worked for churches, I’ve worked for summer camps, I’ve worked for plenty of different ministries in the past, but none of them have given me pure joy in working for them quite like campus ministry. Something about the raw emotion in the room during worship set without anyone feeling the need to hold back and the fact that we’re doing ministry with close friends and loved ones. I’d say the atmosphere that the Holy Spirit creates in the room is specific to my ministry, the Georgia College Wesley Foundation, but joint events that we’ve done with other ministries have led me to believe that it’s basically all campus ministries, at least the ones at Georgia College.

God is doing an incredible work in college ministry. Whether you like Passion or not (and I don’t, musically), they’ve been a big part of that. But college campuses are growing in unity and faith.

And it’s so close to starting again.

Ever been on the verge of leaving for a camp or a mission trip and you spend weeks in anticipation of what God is going to do? That’s what I’m going through right now. And I know I’m not alone in it.

And sometimes we think so much about what God is GOING to do that we forget what God is doing right now.

Anticipation is a good thing, and expectation is a good thing. But we cannot ignore the fact that God has a mighty work for us RIGHT NOW. Just something to think about.

One thought on “When It’s So Close”

  1. Ah yes! So good! I was a guitar player for Young Life in high school, have done youth group then in our house college ministry. Our school year is revving up here also. Especially appreciate your last paragraph!! God bless your year!

Leave a Reply

