Remember That Time?

Remember That Time?
Sometimes we get caught up in the past. What if we’re stuck thinking about the good?

Remember that time when I actually posted to this blog? Ya know, because I had time.

I do actually plan to do this regularly again, for real this time.

Anyway, on to what I actually want to talk about.

I talk a lot about moving on and letting go of the past. This is a good thing to do a lot, as our past isn’t going to change and dwelling on it will only slow us down. That obviously helps if your past has lots of pain in it. A lot of people don’t want to remember the past.

But not every moment of the past is awful, obviously. The photo above is from one of the happiest times of my life, and I’m constantly being reminded (thanks to Timehop) of these three months of my life. And let’s be honest, they were incredible. But I also know that dwelling on the past leads no where. Does that still apply to good things?

The answer, quite predictably, is no. And I think God for that, because I just love to think about the happy times in my life. Not that I’m not happy now, in fact, I may be happier now than I’ve been in a long time. But happy times aren’t limited to now, and God has done things in my life before now that I really love to remember.

Just look at the places in the Bible that talk about remembering. I won’t quote them here, but check these verses out: Deuteronomy 6:12, 1 Corinthians 11:2, 1 Corinthians 11:24, Deuteronomy 8:2, Psalm 119:55.

Pretty much all of these verses are about remembering the things the Lord has done, and a few of them claim that it’s dangerous NOT to remember these things.

Now I’m not saying that every bit of happiness happens because of God’s direct interference in my life, just like I don’t think that God or Satan causes all the sadness we have. But happiness itself is a privilege, a blessing from God. Why the heck not praise God for the fact that you’ve been happy at some point in time in the first place, whether right now or in the past? So we can remember the past without longing desperately for it to return, which is futile and will ultimately leave you disappointed. We can praise God for all the moments where we were happy, when God moved, when we learned, any form of undeserved positivity our lives have had. Just something to think about.

Leave a Reply

