The Good, the Bad, and the Really Bad

Today is February 5th. This can only mean that Overflow: A Night of Music is happening in just a few hours, and all the hard work that went into it will be complete at that point. Well, except the actual production of the CD that will follow. And in that time, I’ve experienced a death in the family, I’ve had to duck out of a worship set I was leading at basically the last minute, I’ve been contacted by several places looking for worship leaders, I’ve been led to the right Bible passages at the right times, and I’ve had a great family of people to share the stressful experience with.

Of course, I schedule my posts early. The day I’m writing this particular piece in January 28, and everything in that list has happened in the last 24 hours.

It’s awesome and a little funny to me how God prepares these things in advance. For example, the Sunday before everything happened I was meeting with my worship team. We were all talking about different Psalms we’d been going through throughout the week. One person pointed out Psalm 136, “His Steadfast Love Endures Forever.” Once he finished explaining what he learned from it, I stopped to point out that I had been reading through Psalm 100, also titled “His Steadfast Love Endures Forever.” Another person reads Psalm 107, and right in verse 1, “His steadfast love endures forever.” I was going through Psalm 143 in my discipleship group on Monday. In two places, “Let me hear in the morning of Your steadfast love (verse 8),” and “And in Your steadfast love You will cut off my enemies (verse 12).” And last night, as we were preparing to rehearse for Overflow, and everything else was taken care of, and I was calming down from that torrential downpour, I shared Psalm 42 with the team. “By day the LORD commands His steadfast love, and at night His song is with me; a prayer to the God of my life (verse 8).” Afterward, we rehearsed, and we went over one of the songs I’ve written for Overflow. I wrote these lyrics almost a year ago, and the first two words of the song rang in my ears: “Steadfast love…” Gee…I wonder what the Lord wanted to remind me throughout all of this.

I am not the only person in the world who’s been hit with an overwhelming amount of work and bad news throughout a single day. That day might be today for some of you. In my case, God used every medium I would look at to remind me that His steadfast love is still under His command, which is over everything, including the circumstances in my life. He’s still there. He’s not going away. Just something to think about.

Leave a Reply

