Student Life Update 7

Sometimes I really miss Valdosta. And I really miss Milledgeville. My apartment, leading worship, friends and family. I feel like my home is a beautiful place.

And then our team goes to Colorado and I forget about all of that.

Just kidding. Of course I never stop missing home. But my job does become a lot easier when I can see mountains out of every window.

As I write this, I’m about to go to bed in Estes Park, Colorado. We got in earlier tonight and it was obvious our whole team had missed it. I know I did.

But I’m not here to talk about how awesome the mountains are again.

If you don’t know, Student Life uses the help of student staffers at each camp, a youth group that comes and assists our staff for the week. Several weeks ago, in San Angelo, I got to spend a lot of time with one staffer in particular (which is a rare opportunity, since my job doesn’t call for staffers during services). We became incredibly close, and eventually he asked me the hardest question I’ve been asked to this point all summer:

“How exactly is God using you in this job?”

Now, I don’t think he asked that to say he doesn’t think God uses me. Nor do I think he lacked a perspective on exactly how. But he deeply challenged me to think about something I hadn’t taken much time to think about all summer.

The fact is I say often that God is using me to advance His kingdom, and I know it’s true, but it’s not often that I sit back and think about exactly how my work is making an impact.

After thinking about it, my answer was that it was my job to make the gospel as clear as possible to the students, citing Romans 10 (“How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching?” Romans‬ ‭10‬:‭14‬ ESV) in order to talk about how important the clarity of the gospel is.

But this isn’t about me. I’d like to challenge you in the same way this staffer challenged me. What about the things you do for God’s kingdom assists in advancing it? Just something to think about.

PS: Have I mentioned yet how much I love mountains?

20140712-001513-913242.jpg

One thought on “Student Life Update 7”

  1. Glad you defined your summer in the context of Christ, brother. Also, you just missed Pastor Dave in Estes Park by a few days!

Leave a Reply

