Student Life Week 5: Lake of the Ozarks, MO

Speaker: Ed Newton
Worship Leader: Brett Younker

Student Life Set
Aerial view of the Student Life set at Windermere

Written Wednesday, June 4 at 11:30 PM. 

The Lord is good.

In the last 24 hours, I’ve gone from basically having a panic attack after losing all control of feedback to sitting at front of house listening to Brett Younker leading right into the best mix I’ve ever made. And all it took was a little hard work, a late night, an early morning, and the sovereignty of God.

There’s no way  I could have made that 180 overnight on my own power. Controlling the feedback alone was a huge struggle last night.

So, as an update to the previous posts I’ve made about trying to trust the Lord, that wasn’t going super well until last night. But God wasn’t going to let me off so easy. He made sure He got my attention, and He made sure I’d trust Him.

Now, within the last 24ish hours I’ve learned two very important things about trusting in the Lord, specifically when it comes to having responsibility within the ministry. But I think this can apply just about anywhere.

1. We do what we can, and we trust The Lord for the rest.

One thing that I need to realize and that I think we all need to realize is that we can’t give any better than our best. When something goes crazy and you’re trying really hard to get things back under control, it’s not a failure if you can’t. Case and point: the crazy loud squealing feedback that inexplicably started happening whenever Brett got anywhere near his microphone. I can’t honestly say I know 100% of what changed between the first  couple of services and that night. But what I do know is that I did everything I could do to fix it. And more importantly, our entire production staff prayed about it. We stayed up late and came in early to work, and then I just left it in God’s hands, which I haven’t done a very good job of doing since I got here. But Celebration in the morning was solid and the mix was the best that it’s ever been when I’ve been behind a board. All that to say the Lord will not let your work be in vain. 1 Corinthians 15:58 makes that clear.  “5Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.”

2. The Lord doesn’t need us. When things go wrong, He still moves.

I learned that lesson hard last night. After the feedback went crazy, we shut Brett’s mic off, he grabbed an acoustic guitar, and just played unplugged (though we had everyone else very much still in the system playing behind him). And that night of worship was more intense than any night of worship I’ve seen in a while. Lots of people were saved. The Lord didn’t stop working just because I freaked out when I heard feedback and couldn’t control it. We shouldn’t be discouraged every time something goes wrong. We certainly shouldn’t freak out and have a panic attack and lose all sense of rational thought like I did. The Lord isn’t going to stop, and in the end, that’s what matters. Just something for me personally to think about, and I hope you think about it too.

Leave a Reply

