Student Life Week 3: Talladega, AL

Training Week 3

Thanks to scheduling, this was written the Wednesday before it was posted. It’s close to midnight, and it’s probably the most free time I’ve gotten all week. But for everyone who is really interested in what’s happening as far as Student Life goes, it’s been great, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything else. It’s incredibly stressful most of the time. But I was once told by my wonderful parents that every job is stressful, but you have to find the one that’s worth the stress (or something like that), and this job definitely is worth all the late nights and issues coming up. I don’t think I could be happier.

That being said, as basically the second choice for this job in particular, it was kind of hard going in to think I would do any good. Seeing the equipment for the first time didn’t help, as I had no idea what was going on. Fortunately, the best way for me to learn how to do something is to be thrown into a situation in which I have to do it and have to do it soon. Still, that comes with stress and mini freak outs. If I couldn’t fix everything, there would be problems.

But my problem was that, while I trusted myself to do the best I could, I wasn’t trusting The Lord to carry it the rest of the way. And if you know my life, it’s never a surprise if I have a hard time trusting anything. But God’s been rubbing lots of stories from Matthew in my face this week. Every bit of it was stories of people who trusted Jesus so much that they came to Him knowing beyond a shadow of a doubt that He had the power to do what they needed Him to. And Jesus always rewarded that faith. That’s the faith I’ve been praying for.

On top of that, today, while reading through Colossians 3 for some good old fashioned practical Christian living, a song that I never listen to popped up on shuffle on my phone. It’s mostly just acoustic spontaneous worship that I didn’t mind having in the background, but the leader kept repeating a lyric that reflects the mindset I wish I had.

“I know that I can trust you.”

That’s it. Over and over. I never thought such a simple United Pursuit lyric would hit me so hard and break me like that. But I need that faith. And maybe I’m not alone. I can’t be the only one scared of something right now. I’m not the only one who thinks he can’t do something he’s been made to do. The fact is, we can’t do anything for God’s glory apart from Him. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: no one knows how to glorify God better than God. So while we do the absolute best we can and strive for excellence in everything, we can trust that when it comes to God’s glory, He’ll make sure it’s all taken care of, especially if we do have that faith. Just something to think about.

Leave a Reply

