The Applebee’s Story

Christmas

Christmas is in a few days. You know what that means, kids. Time for millions of people to mistakenly say, “Happy birthday, Jesus!”

Let me tell you how Jesus feels about this, I’d imagine anyway. It might be easiest to explain this with a story.

In May of 2012, I was the youth worship leader at my local church. I decided to invite everyone to a lunch at Applebee’s. I like hanging out with the band and I want to be their friend as well as their leader. After finishing my meal, I left to go to the bathroom. Not a full minute after I set down, the entire staff of Applebee’s started clapping and moving toward our table. By the way, my birthday is in July. And they gave me a free chocolate cake and wished me a happy birthday for the rest of the night. It doesn’t sound like a bad thing. But it just wasn’t my birthday.

And December 25th is not Jesus’ birthday. We need to learn what we’re celebrating. His birthday isn’t important. And either way, it’s somewhere in the spring/summer area. We’re celebrating the fact that he was born in the first place.

And I know it only got moved to December 25th because the missionaries wanted to line it up with the winter solstice because of the cultures they came in contact with, blah blah blah. I get it.

But still, there’s not much we can do about it now. We can’t just move a national holiday that easily. We might as well just accept our day in December now and enjoy the love of Christ.

Anyway, sorry for ranting. Just the kind of thing that tends to get on my nerves. I love all of you, and I hope you have the merriest Christmas possible.

Leave a Reply

