Here’s Another Thanksgiving Post

You want something to be thankful for? Here's one of the little things that made my day recently. I love Doctor Who. And sometimes just seeing something I love makes me smile. You should ask my girlfriend. Oh no. I'm gross.
You want something to be thankful for? Here’s one of the little things that made my day recently. I love Doctor Who. And sometimes just seeing something I love makes me smile. You should ask my girlfriend. Oh no. I’m gross.

Yes, I’m doing a “You should be thankful” post on Thanksgiving. Just go with it. I promise there’s a bout a 50% chance that it’s different from all the others.

I see things all the time this time of year that say “Be thankful for what you have because the starving kids in Africa don’t get what you have.” We should be thankful for all that we have, absolutely. But there’s something else that sentiment tends to downplay. Because what that says is “If you’re rich (which you are if you’re reading this on a web-enabled device, compared to the rest of the world anyway), you should feel guilty about feeling sad.”

No. You shouldn’t. We have problems, too.

That’s why the little things in life that make you smile are so important. Like walking into a coffee shop and seeing a reference to your favorite TV show on a chalkboard, or someone telling you that you look good today. Whatever the case may be, These little things make life a little bit easier.

So here’s to you, little things. Keep making us smile and starting conversations. These little things go a  long way. Just something to think about .

Leave a Reply

