Cutting Ties

Image

FYI, I had to make this picture myself because it’s very hard to find cheesy pictures of ties being cut to go along with this blog post.

Anyway, I’m leaving for Milledgeville tomorrow, which is why I haven’t had the chance to make this blog until now. I’ve been packing the car, saying goodbye to friends, and making and editing  videos to promote the radio show in an extremely shameless yet entertaining way. But returning to Georgia College is causing me to flash back to all the life lessons I learned during my freshman year there, and I look forward to learning more.

If there’s one important lesson I’ve learned over the past year, it’s that sometimes you need to cut certain ties (specifically those that are harming your relationship with Christ or interfering with your priorities or needs). I spent so much time last year chasing after things that weren’t of the Lord. Why? Because I allowed certain people from home to influence that aspect of my life. The fact is, we can’t do that. We can’t continue to keep spending time and energy trying to prolong a connection with someone when it’s killing us from the inside.

Mark 9:47 says that if your eye is causing you to sin, then tear it out. After all, it’s better to enter the kingdom of God with one eye than to be cast down into Hell. What are we trying to hang on to? What are we unwilling to tear out of our lives? Relationships? TV shows? A job? Pure laziness? Lusts? None of it matters. If we can’t focus on any particular person or activity without sinning, or even if we can but we aren’t at the moment, it’s our responsibility to get rid of it. It’s not healthy to keep dragging your baggage or your past behind you. Cut anything out that’s coming between you and The Lord.

In other news, we’re closer than ever before to being on air, though technically speaking we’ve been getting closer and closer every second through all of eternity. Truth be told, I’m excited to be back on the radio, and I’m excited to go back to Wesley and get back to school. This is going to be a great year.

One thought on “Cutting Ties”

  1. You are truly an inspiration! Thank you for sharing this… it really spoke volumes. 🙂 Have a wonderful day – you absolutely deserve it!

Leave a Reply

