Is Sinless Possible?

An artist’s rendering of Babylon

Many Christians believe that it is impossible to be completely sinless. And I don’t just mean over your whole life, as that is a given. No one is going to go their entire life without sinning. But many Christians think that there’s no way one can go even a whole day without sinning except for Jesus Himself? Have you ever found yourself in that position? Have you ever used that as an excuse for your sin?

Well the time has come to quit thinking that way. Until very recently, I thought sin was inevitable and that I’d never be able to get rid of it completely. I sin all the time, and I’d allowed myself to become almost okay with it. But check out this passage from Jeremiah 50:

“Israel is a hunted sheep driven away by lions. First the king of Assyria devoured him, and now at last Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon has gnawed his bones. 18 Therefore, thus says the Lord of hosts, the God of Israel: Behold, I am bringing punishment on the king of Babylon and his land, as I punished the king of Assyria. 19 I will restore Israel to his pasture, and he shall feed on Carmel and in Bashan, and his desire shall be satisfied on the hills of Ephraim and in Gilead. 20 In those days and in that time, declares the Lord, iniquity shall be sought in Israel, and there shall be none, and sin in Judah, and none shall be found, for I will pardon those whom I leave as a remnant.” (Jeremiah 50:17-20)

Granted, I do see the last bit. “None shall be found, for I will pardon those whom I leave as a remnant.” But I already know what most people will try to say about that, because I tried to say it to myself as well. “It just means that the people are still sinning, and they will be forgiven.” That may very well be.  But the people outside of Israel and Judah are unable to find sin and iniquity in these places. Not even one ounce of it. Tell me, do people today look at the church and find it sinless? Not even close. Maybe part of it is that we’re not trying hard enough, myself included. I personally believe that all Christians with the help of the Lord can avoid intentional sin and can resist temptation if they truly try and truly ask the Lord for help. I have yet to achieve this and I sin every day. But I understand that I don’t have to. I have a choice in the matter. My sin isn’t inevitable, I chose it. That’s the message that I’m trying to get across with this post. Your sin is not inevitable, and there is no excuse for it like “I’m just a human. It’s only natural. I can’t avoid it.” Yes you can. The Lord has given us authority. It’s about time we use it. Just something to think about.

Leave a Reply

